ALERT

As of 12/31/2019, iLab will no longer support older browsers (e.g. IE 10, Safari 6, Firefox 26, etc.) to maintain industry standard security. Please click here for more information.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Overview of Services

Materials engineers make a unique contribution – not just by making new materials, but also by improving what we already have. Here at Monash, our graduates and researchers are making things stronger, lighter, more functional, more sustainable and more cost-effective. Their contributions underpin all aspects of engineering, manufacturing and health sciences. Not surprisingly – they’re increasingly in demand.

 

 

Getting Started

To start working with us:

1. Register for an iLab account using your Monash credentials (one time registration)

2. Take the New Horizons building induction here

 

You can then;

 

Leadership

Neil Cameron
Head of Department

 

Ian Wheeler

Department Manager                     

John Forsythe
Safety Officer

 

Daniel Curtis

Chief Technical Officer

 

Location and hours of operation

Business Hours Location

 Monday - Friday                  
8am - 6pm

 

24/7 access for Trained Users             

 20 Research Way,
Clayton VIC 3800

Links and Resources

  1. Department Website Home Page
  2. S.A.R.A.H.
  3. Chemwatch

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Ian Wheeler
Department Manager
 
50001
 
ian.wheeler@monash.edu
 
Room 106, Building 69, 22 Alliance Lane
 
Daniel Curtis
Chief Tech Officer
 
0425 778 490
 
daniel.curtis@monash.edu
 
Room 110, Building 69, 22 Alliance Lane
 
Enrico Seemann
Senior Tech Officer
 
0438 804 590
 
enrico.seemann@monash.edu
 
Room 110, Building 69, 22 Alliance Lane
 
Tobias Orchard
Tech Officer
 
0413 708 453
 
tobias.orchard@monash.edu
 
Room 110, Building 69, 22 Alliance Lane
 
Jono Wilson
Tech Officer
 
0407 440 997
 
jono.wilson@monash.edu
 
Room 110, Building 69, 22 Alliance Lane
 
Trina Majumdar
Tech Officer
 
0427 482 922
 
trina.majumdar@monash.edu
 
Room 112, Building 69, 22 Alliance Lane
 

Map