About Monash Technology Research Platforms

 

Monash University research technology platforms are an incredible resource available to our research community, collaborators and industry partners, both locally in Melbourne and around the world.

We differentiate ourselves with the breadth and the quality of our platforms. With over 27 platforms in operation, we have capabilities to take your project from discovery right through to translation and commercialisation.

Monash has made significant investments in research infrastructure, very frequently matched by funding and investments from government and other funding schemes.

All our platforms are backed by teams of in-house expertise to support our researchers and partners in your work.

Our philosophy is to operate platforms to world’s best practice standards, including good governance, oversight and management, it means we can support the very best research outcomes and impact.

Acknowledgement of Platforms

It is important that the impact of Monash Technology Research Platforms is able to be recognized and quantified. To that end, we strongly encourage researchers to acknowledge any and all Monash research platforms utilized in the course of a study, in any publications or research outputs arising from that study.

Access Monash Technology Research Platforms

MONASH STAFF & STUDENTS

If you are a Monash Employee or Student you are able to use your Monash authentication to log in. 

HUDSON INSTITUTE STAFF & STUDENTS

If you are an employee or student working at the HUDSON INSTITUTE please sign up or login via the Monash tab but please use your HUDSON EMAIL ADDRESS to login. This is important to avoid getting a login error 

EXTERNAL ACADEMIC STAFF & STUDENTS

If you are from an external academic institution you are able to log in using the Australian Access Federation (AAF); or create a local iLab account.

EXTERNAL COMMERCIAL CLIENTS

If you are from an external commercial organisation, please sign up for a local iLab account and then you will be able to request access to all the different Monash Technology Research Platforms.

 

Enquiries

If you have any queries related to either access to this system or you aren't sure which platform may have the right solution for you - please send us an email 

 

We are now on Arin - Arin helps researchers and industry R&D to drill down into the detail and find specific services and equipment that are available in our Research Platforms - Click here to search Arin

 

 
 

 

iLab Cores at Monash University

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Monash iLab and PQMS Support

Mahyar Nasabi Mahyar.Nasabi@monash.edu +61 3 990 29362
Biochemistry Imaging Facility

Irene Erini Hatzinisiriou ImagingFacility.Biochemistry@monash.edu +61 3 990 29255
Biomedical Discovery Institute (BDI)

Cheryl Roberts cheryl.roberts@monash.edu 0407 502 068
Biomedical Learning and Teaching Building

Dr. Pamu Kularathna Pamu.Kularathna@monash.edu +61 3 990 59293
Central Clinical School

Rachael Borg Rachael.Borg@monash.edu 0419 625 846
Data Science and AI

Data Science and AI Platform datascienceplatform@monash.edu
Department of Chemical Engineering

Anthony De Girolamo anthony.degirolamo@monash.edu +61 3 990 51095
Department of Civil Engineering

Rachel James rachel.james1@monash.edu +61 3 990 56265
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Ian Wheeler ian.wheeler@monash.edu +61 3 990 50001
Drone Discovery Platform

Rohan Clarke rohan.clarke@monash.edu 0408 947 001
FlowCore

Andrew Fryga andrew.fryga@monash.edu +61 3 990 20266
FlowCore MHTP

Michael Thomson michael.thomson@hudson.org.au +61 3 857 22494
HMSTrust Analytical Laboratory

Nicole McMillan nicole.mcmillan@monash.edu +61 3 990 39558
MIPS CCeMMP cryoEM node

Matthew Belousoff matthew.belousoff@monash.edu 399029210
MIPS Imaging and FACS

Cameron Nowell cameron.nowell@monash.edu 0422882700
Medicines Manufacturing Innovation Centre (MMIC)

Tri-Hung Nguyen tri-hung.nguyen@monash.edu +61 3 990 39299
Micromon Genomics

Scott Coutts scott.coutts@monash.edu +61 3 9905 8592
Monash Animal Research Platform

MARP Client Services Unit marp.clientservices@monash.edu +61 3 990 20220
Monash Antibody Technologies Facility

Monash Antibody Technologies Facility info.matf@monash.edu +61 3 990 58906
Monash Bioinformatics Platform

Deanna Deveson Lucas deanna.deveson@monash.edu +61 3 990 29186
Monash Biomedical Imaging

MBI Enquiries enquiries.mbi@monash.edu +61 3 990 50100
Monash Business Behavioural Lab

Hue Pham hue.pham@monash.edu 99020833
Monash Centre for Additive Manufacturing

Tom Jarvis tom.jarvis@monash.edu +61 3 990 59849
Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy

MCEM General Enquiries mcem@monash.edu +61 3 990 55563
Monash Functional Genomics Platform

Dr Luis F. Malaver-Ortega luis.malaver-ortega@monash.edu
Monash Genome Modification Platform (MGMP)

Peta Burns mgmp@monash.edu +61 3 990 24047
Monash Histology Platform

Ms Camilla Cohen camilla.cohen@monash.edu +61 3 990 52740
Monash Macromolecular Crystallisation Facility

Danuta Maksel, Geoffrey Kong mmcf@monash.edu +61 3 990 59777
Monash Metabolic Phenotyping Facility

Joel Eliades joel.eliades@monash.edu +61 3 990 51653
Monash Micro Imaging - ARA

Stephen Cody stephen.cody@monash.edu +61 3 990 30142
Monash Micro Imaging - Clayton

Stephen Firth stephen.firth@monash.edu +61 3 990 20877
Monash Micro Imaging - MHTP

Dr. Sarah Creed sarah.creed@hudson.org.au +61 3 8572 2816
Monash Proteomics & Metabolomics Facility

Ralf Schittenhelm ralf.schittenhelm@monash.edu +61 3 990 54324
Monash University Accident Research Centre

Peggy Hum-Teo peggy.hum-teo@monash.edu +61 3 990 51853
Monash X-Ray Platform (MXP)

Richard Parsons Richard.parsons@monash.edu +61 3 990 52783
Murine Disease Model Facility

Miles De Blasio miles.deblasio@monash.edu 0424 878 344
Ramaciotti Centre for Cryo-Electron Microscopy

Georg Ramm georg.ramm@monash.edu +61 3 990 51280
School of Chemistry

Dr. Alasdair McKay alasdair.mckay@monash.edu +61 3 990 29023
School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health

Clare Westhorpe clare.westhorpe@monash.edu +61 3 857 22583

non-iLab Cores at Monash University

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Wind Tunnel Facility

The Monash University Wind Tunnel Facility has a broad range of aerodynamics testing capabilities. The tunnel is used for vehicle development in the areas of aerodynamic, aeroacoustic and cooling analysis in both road and racing car design. Other testing areas include airplane, UAV and micro UAV, truck, train, building, cycling, yachting and various other aerodynamic tests. The facility is available for industry, research and student use.

David Burton david.burton@monash.edu +61 3 9905 5865
Centre for Drug Candidate Optimisation

The Centre for Drug Candidate Optimisation (CDCO) is a collaborative research centre that provides expertise and infrastructure in ADME lead optimisation to multidisciplinary drug discovery teams for improved compound design, selection and progression​.

Andrew Powell andrew.powell@monash.edu + 61 3 9903 9149
Monash Fragment Platform

The Monash Fragment Platform MFP provides academic and commercial researchers with access to fragment-based drug discovery technologies for their therapeutic targets. The facilities are located at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences – Australia’s largest and most successful pharmaceutical institute.

Martin Scanlon martin.scanlon@monash.edu +61 (3) 9903 9540
MASSIVE

The Multi-modal Australian ScienceS Imaging and Visualisation Environment (MASSIVE) is Australia’s specialised high performance computing facility for imaging and visualisation. MASSIVE provides hardware, software and expertise to drive research in biomedical sciences, materials research, engineering and geosciences – with particular focus on neuroscience and molecular imaging.

Wojtek Goscinski wojtek.goscinski@monash.edu +61 (3) 9902 4845
eResearch Centre

Enabling and Accelerating 21st Century Discovery at Monash University and beyond, through the application of advanced computing, data informatics, tools and infrastructure, delivered at scale, and built with a co-design principle between researchers and technologists.

Paul Bonnington paul.bonnington@monash.edu +61 3 9905 9704
AquaCore

The ARMI AquaCore facility is the largest zebrafish facility of its kind in the southern hemisphere, consisting of 1000 quarantine tanks and 5200 main facility tanks (non quarantine). It houses genetically modified and mutant strains of zebrafish to model a variety of human diseases and conditions. Additional services include a sperm freezing and rederivation service for any long term storage requirements. AquaCore is also currently running a pilot system to house axolotl and shark embryos for research, with the intention of developing larger scale facilities in the future.

Jan Kaslin jan.kaslin@monash.edu +61 (3) 990 29613